Skip to main content

Student Council

Established in 1950, the New Mexico Association of Student Councils was founded by a group of educators who wanted to create an organization for student leaders that would encourage them to practice the democratic process, citizenship and service while fostering an exchange of ideas and problem solving strategies in New Mexico's schools.

Today, more than 60 years later, we have become the premier student leadership organization in New Mexico. Each year we serve thousands of students and advisers from member schools all across the state. Our organization is recognized by the National Association of Student Councils (NASC), and we offer leadership training experiences for our members throughout the year. Some of these opportunities for leadership and character development include:

  • Fall NMASC/District Conferences
  • Annual State Conference
  • Summer Leadership Workshop
  • Annual attendance at the NASC National Conference
  • Adviser training at our state events
  • Membership networking opportunities

Each year we present a number of awards to honor our members, including the NMASC Adviser of the Year Award (in both high and middle levels), NMASC Student Council of the Year Award and the Project of the Year Award.

Our governing body is the NMASC Executive Board, elected by member schools, and consists of an Executive Director, four adult board members, and four student officers.



Santa Rosa Middle School Student Council is devoted to setting a good example through leadership opportunities. This program has evolved into a very active organization at SRMS. All members of this organization share an active role in promoting positive behavior and school spirit through activities which encourage high levels of involvement. 

Selina Martinez, Adviser

Jacob Esquibel, President
Krista Garnand, 1st Vice-President
Brooke Silva, 2nd Vice-President
Lucas Lopez, Secretary
Nicola Johnson, Treasurer
Nenson Kotiar, Historian
Celina Gonzales, PBS Officer

 8th Grade
Aiden Salazar
Athan Quesada

7th Grade

Santiago Pacheco
Joshua Flores
Summer Storey
Jaron Sanchez 

6th Grade
Danae Esquibel
Daelyn Pacheco
Aurelio Gonzales
Tristin Trujillo
Madeline Ross